Yeti on Loose- Beware

Not as exciting as it sounds I’m afraid! We were checking some browser stats on our visitors and noticed a big spike in traffic using a browser called ‘Yeti 1.0′ over the past fortnight.


Creative Commons License photo credit: billypalooza

Its not actually a browser its the crawler for the Korean search portal naver.com. Not sure why they need to send us 50-100 fake referrers a day to index our site.

yeti-1-0-referrer-bot-spam.jpg

We’ve blocked the Yeti crawler using robots.txt. I’d recommend you do the same as these unwanted visitors are going to mess up your stats, especially bounce rates and average page views.

Block the Yeti 1.0 naver.com crawler with robots.txt

Naver.com crawl as Yeti 1.0 but I’ve also read a few forum posts referring to it as a different user agent so I’ve added these lines to the robots file-

User-agent: Yeti/1.0
Disallow: /

User-agent: Yeti/0.01
Disallow: /

User-agent: Yeti
Disallow: /

User-agent: NaverBot
Disallow: /

Say no to Yeti’s!

Related posts:

John McElborough is a digital marketing consultant at SiteVisibility. He writes mostly about search engine optimisation, usability, Facebook and fish. You can connect with him on linked in here http://www.linkedin.com/in/johnmcelborough, twitter http://twitter.com/johnmcelborough or read more of his blog posts here http://www.sitevisibility.co.uk/blog/author/john/
  1. #1 by Matt at May 28th, 2009

    I also just noticed this spike on my employer’s site…. looks like bad programming to me.

(will not be published)
  1. No trackbacks yet.

SiteVisibility are a social media, paid search and search engine optimisation agency based in Brighton, UK.

© SiteVisibility 2003 - 2009 | SiteVisibility is the trading name of AI Digital Ltd | VAT No. GB798099747 | Company No. 4310360
Brighton Office: Kingslake House, 1-5 Union Street, Brighton, BN1 1HA
London Office: 83 Victoria Street, London, SW1H 0HW